5 - Five-time Sprint Cup Series champ Jimmie Johnson registers Rick Hendrick 's milestone 200th victory at Darlington Raceway on May 12 after winning the organization’s 199th in October 2011 Kansas Speedway.

4 - Michael Waltrip Racing made its first Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup since its 2007 founding season in grand fashion withClint Bowyer and Martin Truex, Jr. Bowyer places second in the Chase in his first year with the team while Truex Jr., comes home 11th in the final standings.

3 - Rain postponed the race for the first time since 1959 and it became the first Great American Race staged on a Monday night.Matt Kenseth and his No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing Ford Racing machine led the most laps and held off Dale Earnhardt Jr., in a green-white-checkered flag finish. Many will always remember when Juan Pablo Montoya created a Turn 3 fireball after his car sustained a mechanical failure and slammed into a jet dryer.

2 - Ten-time Most Popular Driver Award winner Dale Earnhardt Jr. broke a 143-race Sprint Cup Series victory drought by leading 95 laps and scoring an impressive 5.393 seconds triumph over Tony Stewart in Michigan. Earnhardt Jr., has collected two victories, six top-five and 10 top-10 finishes through 27 career starts at the track.

1 Our Quaker State 400 winner and Penske Racing driver Brad Keselowski fueled his title run by nailing down his first of an eventual five 2012 victories in March at Bristol Motor Speedway. Keselowski lost the points lead following his sixth-place finish at Martinsville on Oct. 28, but regained the top spot with a sixth-place Phoenix International Raceway showing on Nov. 11 when five-time series champ and leader Jimmie Johnson's No. 48 experienced mechanical trouble. Keselowski sealed the title with a 15th-place Homestead-Miami Speedway performance and closed out the season owning a combined 13 top-five and 23 top-10 finishes.