Matt Crafton drove into the history Nov. 14 when he cruised to a ninth-place finish in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) Homestead-Miami Speedway season finale and became the first driver to corral back-to-back series championships.

The ThorSport Racing driver from Tulare, Calif. native joins Todd Bodine, Ron Hornaday, Jr. and Jack Sprague as multi-time champions.

"It's awesome. To say that I've done it back-to-back and no one has done that, it's such a good, good feeling," Crafton said. "I just remember watching Ron Hornaday race my dad back in the Southwest Tour days. 

"He was an animal then and an unbelievable race car driver. To say I'm in the history books with Ron Hornaday, and all those great race car drivers, its great being in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. I still say it's the best racing in NASCAR."

Crafton started his No. 88 machine sixth, his eighth top-10 start at HMS, and never raced worse than 11th in the field through the 134-lap affair. Crew chief Carl "Junior" Joiner kept Crafton's truck in solid race conditions throughout, bringing it to pit road three times under caution on Laps 25, 71 and 100. Joiner called for four tires and fuel each time and made his only adjustment on the final stop to remedy what Crafton described as a "free on entry, tight on exit" feel.

The champion's survived a scare on lap 111, when Tyler Reddick's No. 19 truck slid sideways in front of the No. 88 at the exit of Turn 2. Crafton drove high to avoid contact,   restarted seventh with 20 laps remaining and crossed the stripe  with his 17th top-10 finish through 22 starts this season. He closed out his 14th full season with two victories and 13 top-five finishes.

"It's all about the guys at ThorSport Racing that are behind me. Without them, I'm just an average race car driver at best. It's all about the truck that these guys put underneath me each and every week. This truck, t's been unbelievable to drive every week this year." 

Bubba Wallace notched his fourth victory of the season in the 200-mile tilt. It was his second victory in his past four series starts. He ends his 14th full series season with a total of nine top-five and 14 top-10 finishes.

Kyle Larson took the checkers second and 0.293 of a second behind Wallace. Timothy Peters, Kyle Busch and Ryan Blaney, who placed second in the championship standings and only 21 points behind Crafton, completed the race top five.

Matt Crafton Championship Extras:

  • Crafton's 15-year tenure competing in the NCWTS, all with ThorSport Racing, the Tulare, Calif. native has recorded five wins, 76 top-five finishes, 192 top-10's and seven pole awards
  • Crafton, 38, holds the record among active drivers for most consecutive series starts (338), dating back to his first series race in 2000
  • Darrell Wallace, Jr. won the 19th annual NCWTS 200 followed by Kyle Larson (second), Timothy Peters (third), Kyle Busch (fourth), and Ryan Blaney (fifth)
  • Wallace's win was the 18th of the season for Tundra drivers in NCWTS competition - marking the 129th win for Tundra drivers since Toyota joined the series in 2004 and tying Chevrolet (2010) for the all-time series record of wins in a single season