Indy Racing League IndyCar® Series and Kentucky Speedway announce that the annual 300-mile event at the venue traditionally held on a Sunday afternoon will move to a Saturday, Aug. 11 twilight start for the first time in 2007. A 100-mile Indy Pro Series™ race will be held in conjunction with the IndyCar Series event.

"The time change is what we needed for this event," Kentucky Speedway Executive Vice President and General Manager Mark F. Cassis said. "While we truly benefited and were extremely grateful to be able to showcase our venue and marketplace through the ABC national television broadcasts in past seasons, we think our fans will truly enjoy seeing high-speed Indy cars circling our speedway in the evening.

"A twilight start also will provide us the opportunity to complement the race with elements our fans have come to expect such as a post race concert or fireworks show to create a complete evening of family entertainment."

The 1.5-mile tri-oval located in Sparta, Ky., has hosted IndyCar Series racing since 2000 and was site of the second-fastest IndyCar Series race in 2003. The track is one of the most competitive in series history with five race winners, including two-time and 2006 champion Sam Hornish, Jr., and seven polesitters in seven events. Both Sarah Fisher and Danica Patrick, the only female pole winners in IndyCar Series history, have started Kentucky Speedway races from the pole position.

"It is exciting to give fans of the IndyCar Series a Midwest option to watch our drivers and cars under the lights," said Brian Barnhart, the president and COO of the Indy Racing League, the sanctioning body for the IndyCar Series and Indy Pro Series. "We are pleased to give the Kentucky Speedway the Saturday evening race they have long sought and thank ABC Sports/ESPN for working with us to enhance our schedule."

The IndyCar Series staged evening and night events at Texas Motor Speedway, Richmond International Raceway and Nashville Superspeedway this season.

The Kentucky Speedway event is the fifth announced date for the 2007 IndyCar Series season. The IndyCar Series previously announced that it would race at the Milwaukee Mile June 3, return to the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., for the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg April 1 and race for the first time at Iowa Speedway June 24. The 91st Indianapolis 500-Mile Race will be held on May 27 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The remainder of the 2007 Kentucky Speedway and IndyCar Series schedules will be announced at a later date.

~ Kentucky Speedway ~