Bud Kaeding (No. 29 BK-Leffler Loan City /DRC/Shaver) continued his reign atop the USAC Silver Crown Series speed charts at Kentucky Speedway by taking the pole award for tonight's "Kentucky 100" with a quick lap of 172.645 mph (31.278 seconds).

The current leader in the series championship standings will share the front row of the 11-car field with Wayne Reutimann, Jr. (No. 00 Case Contracting /DRC/Pink Ford), who qualified second with a 172.172 mph (31.364 seconds) lap. Brian Tyler (No. 21 Team Six - Kroger-Bounty-Pringles-Tide/C&R/Chevy) and former USAC Triple Crown winner Dave Steele (No. 1 Randy Steenbergen-Team Six/Print Express-Verizon/C&R/Chevy) will comprise the second row.

Kaeding, who led the afternoon series practice session, is on track to earn his first win and fourth straight top-five finish of the season in the series debut on the Kentucky Speedway 1.5-mile tri-oval track.

"This team has put a really good car together," Kaeding said. "Kentucky Speedway is a lot different than other tracks. It's the biggest track that I've raced on and we've had to make adjustments to fit this track. My previous pavement experience in Chicago and practicing here set me up for my qualifying time."

Tickets for tonight's race are available at the speedway main entrance. All seats are $20 and children age 12 and under will be admitted free.

Racing continues tomorrow with the NASCAR Busch Series "Meijer 300 Presented by Oreo." The speedway announced yesterday its 66,089 grandstand seats available for the event sold out. Forty-dollar standing-room-only-tickets are on sale now and can be purchased at speedway ticket booths, online at www.kentuckyspeedway.com or through Meijer stores.

Speedway parking lots open at 7:30 a.m. and gates open at 4:00 p.m., with "Meijer 300 Presented by Oreo" NASCAR Busch Series qualifying. Country music supergroup Lonestar will play a prerace concert at 6:00 p.m., and a 43-car field featuring eight NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series drivers such as Kevin Harvick, defending race champion Carl Edwards and former Kentucky Speedway race winners Greg Biffle and Kyle Busch take the green flag at 8:00 p.m. Cincinnati Bengals' quarterback Carson Palmer is the race honorary starter and Miss USA Tara Elizabeth Conner will be the race grand marshal.

Story by Mike Schmaltz

~ Kentucky Speedway ~