Kentucky Speedway will celebrate the 2010 Labor Day holiday weekend with Marco Andretti, Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, Danica Patrick and an international field of IndyCar Series racing stars.

Officials solidified dates on the previously announced IndyCar Series schedule today. The 17-race 2010 IndyCar Seiries campaign will include a season-opening race in Brazil, home to drivers Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Raphael Matos and Vitor Meira, as well as a stop at the Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala. The Indianapolis 500 will be contested on May 30.

Kentucky Speedway's 300-mile event will begin the final three-race stretch of the 2010 docket and be in a position to play a pivotal role in deciding the series champion while giving fans in the Greater Cincinnati, Lexington, Ky., and Louisville, Ky., a unique way to enjoy their holiday weekend.

"We're thrilled with the history we've had with the IndyCar Series. We've had some exciting moments such as Ryan Bricoe's 0.0162 of a second victory over Ed Carpenter earlier this month that represents the second-closest finish in our track's history. Those types of memories stack up.

"We think we can take this race and make it even better, so we were happy the holiday weekend date was available. With the investment we've made and will make in amenities such as camping, we think our event will make an excellent destination weekend," Kentucky Speedway General Manager Mark Simendinger said.

Speedway Motorsports, Inc. (SMI) also will play host to a primetime event at Texas Motor Speedway on June 12 where the IndyCar Series will race under the lights for the first time in the facility's history.

The complete 2010 IndyCar Series schedule will be:

Date Location Venue Sunday, March 14 Brazil TBA Sunday, March 28 Streets of St. Petersburg, Fla. 1.8-mile street course Sunday, April 11 Barber Motorsports Park 2.38-mile road course Sunday, April 18 Streets of Long Beach, Calif. 1.968-mile street course Saturday, May 1 Kansas Speedway 1.5-mile oval Sunday, May 30 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5-mile oval Saturday, June 5* Texas Motor Speedway 1.5-mile oval Sunday, June 20 Iowa Speedway .875-mile oval Sunday, July 4 Watkins Glen International 3.37-mile road course Sunday, July 18 Streets of Toronto 1.721-mile street course Sunday, July 25 Edmonton City Centre Airport 1.973-mile airport course Sunday, August 8 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course 2.258-mile road course Sunday, August 22 Infineon Raceway 2.245-mile road course Saturday, August 28* Chicagoland Speedway 1.5-mile oval Saturday, Sept. 4* Kentucky Speedway 1.5-mile oval Sunday, Sept. 19 Twin Ring Motegi 1.5-mile oval Saturday, October 2 Homestead-Miami Speedway 1.5-mile oval

* Denotes night race - Schedule Subject to Change

Story by Mike Schmaltz

~Kentucky Speedway ~