Ginn Racing driver Regan Smith turned a 177.026-mph (30.504 seconds) qualifying lap in his No. 4 Waste Management Chevrolet today to become the seventh different NASCAR Busch Series pole award winner in Kentucky Speedway history.

Smith earned his first Kentucky Speedway series pole award and will attempt to become the seventh different series race winner at the 66,089-seat venue when 43 drivers take the green flag for the "Meijer 300 Presented by Oreo" at 8:30 p.m.

He snared his series-best 16th-place finish at the track in his fourth career series start in 2006.

"It was good, smooth, steady run. I didn't push it too hard because I got a little loose yesterday in qualifying trim," Smith said. "We have a great racecar and hopefully we'll have a chance to get out there and show them what we got tonight. We were originally scheduled to go to Michigan to race NEXTEL Cup and decided to come here instead. It looks like we made a good decision."

Evernham Motorsports driver Chase Miller will join Smith on the front row after qualifying his No. 9 Ragu Dodge second with a 176.748-mph (30.552 seconds) effort. Joe Gibbs Racing driver and 2006 Kentucky Speedway series runner-up J.J. Yeley, who is racing for car owner James Finch this weekend, qualified third with a 176.621-mph (30.574 seconds) circuit. 2005 Kentucky Speedway series race winner and current championship leader Carl Edwards completed the second row after turning his best of two qualifying laps at 176.442 mph (30.605 seconds).

No driver threatened Edwards' reigning series record 181.287-mph (29.787 seconds) qualifying run from 2005.

A prerace concert with rock legend Peter Frampton is up next.

Story by Mike Schmaltz

~ Kentucky Speedway ~