The Kentucky Speedway Tripleheader Fall Classic will play a pivotal role in deciding the 2004 champions of the American Speed Association (ASA), I-POWER DASH Series and NASCAR AutoZone Elite Division Southeast Series (NAEDSS) as each features a close points battle nearing the end of their respective seasons. Here is a look at the series and the title chases that are coming down to the wire at Kentucky Speedway this weekend.

ASA National Tour The tour visits Kentucky Speedway for the second time this season with three races remaining on its 2004 docket. "The BFGoodrich 225" will help decide if defending tour champion Kevin Cywinski can bring home his second consecutive National Tour title and third of his career. Cywinski has collected a win and a total of five top-five and eight top-10 finishes through 10 of a scheduled 14 events this season. He leads second-place driver Mike Garvey by 99-points entering "The Kentucky 225." While not eliminated from championship contention, Garvey is in line for his fourth straight top-five points finish. Should he erase the deficit to Cywinski in the final events of the season, Garvey could bring home his first career championship. He has driven to three wins and a total of eight top-five finishes through 10 starts this season. Scott Lagasse, Jr., won the May 7 race here in the closest finish in Kentucky Speedway history by nipping Wade Day by .014 of a second. Garvey finished fifth in May and Cywinski was 28th.

ASA expanded from its short track roots for the first time this season by including superspeedways on its schedule. Cars feature spec engines and center chassis sections that ensure close, competitive racing. Prominent drivers who have made their way through the ASA ranks include Matt Kenseth (2003 NEXTEL Cup Series Champion), Mark Martin (four-time ASA champion), Rusty Wallace (1983 ASA Champion), and Jimmie Johnson (1998 ASA Rookie-of-the-Year).


The rejuvenated I-POWER DASH Series returns to Kentucky Speedway for the fourth consecutive season. The series points race features an ultra close battle between leader Danny Bagwell from Cordova, Ala., and Johnny Chapman of Stoney Point, N.C. Bagwell holds a two-point advantage over Chapman after earning two wins and a total of five top-five finishes through six starts this season. Chapman has driven to two wins, four top-five and five top-10 finishes in his six events. Including "The Kentucky 100," he has three opportunities to overtake Bagwell. The series concludes its season with October visits to New Smyrna Beach, Fla., and Memphis, Tenn. Bagwell finished fifth and Chapman finished sixth here last season.

Born in the Southeast United States, the compact stock car series creates a new identity for the 2004 season after racing under the NASCAR sanctioning banner for 28 years. The series features V6-powered stock cars that compete on a mix of short tracks and superspeedways. The series owns the second-closest (0.024 of a second) and sixth-closest (0.131 of a second) finishes in Kentucky Speedway history. Past Kentucky champions include Robert Huffman (2003, 2001) and Justin Hobgood (2002).

NASCAR AutoZone Elite Division Southeast Series

"The Kentucky 150" will help decide the tight NAEDSS championship tilt between Cincinnati native Jeff Fultz and rookie Erik Darnell. Fultz took his third and most recent Kentucky Speedway victory on June 18 when he disposed of Chris Pearlman by .262 of a second at the finish line. Fultz used that win to spark four-race run in which he took three wins, a fifth-place finish and the lead in the championship chase. Fultz's win at Greeneville-Pickens Speedway on August 14th this season gave him the all-time lead in series wins with 22. He will roll off the starting grid with a 64-point lead over Darnell, who looks to improve on his eighth-place performance from the series' June race here.

Under its former name, the NASCAR All-Pro Series, the late-model stock car series contested the very first race in Kentucky Speedway history in June 2000. The series is a proving ground where drivers hone skills on short tracks and superspeedways in hopes of transitioning to the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series or NASCAR Busch Series. In addition to producing the first Kentucky Speedway race champion, Billy Bigley, Jr., the series set the speedway record for the fastest average speed among its 18 stock car races at 153.278 mph in 2002. That race also stands as the only caution-free event in speedway history. In all, the series has produced three of the 10 closest finishes in speedway history. Past series race winners include Scott Carlson (June 2003; August 2002), Eddie Mercer (June 2002), Fultz (June 2004; August 2001; June 2001), and Bigley, Jr. (June 2000).

Tickets are still available and can be reserved in the following ways:
By phone at 888-652-RACE
On the World Wide Web at or outlets including all Meijer stores
Through the Kentucky Speedway ticket offices at 2216 Dixie Hwy., Ste. 200, in Ft. Mitchell, Ky.,
and Fan Center in Sparta, Ky.

~ Kentucky Speedway ~